Monday, June 6, 2011     17:19
Advanced Aquatics

Advanced Aquatics Classes - FUNdamental Movement Skills

survive and save club

Join our classes!

Follow us on

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Our specialised and unique Advanced ‘Aquatic Swimmer’ programme focuses at stages 8, 9 and 10 of the ASA National Plan for Teaching Swimming.

Swimmers usually spend a minimum of ½ term and a maximum of a term on improving and developing one of the aquatic disciplines:

  • Competitive Swimming
  • Rookie Lifeguard
  • Flip n’ Fun (Diving)
  • Mini Polo

  • All of our advanced aquatics classes follow the ASA guidance on Safe Supervision for Teaching and Coaching Swimming.  All teachers hold a minimum of an ASA Level 2 Teaching Aquatics qualification with endorsements to teach each of the aquatics disciplines.  Classes at stages 8-10 will contain up to 12 swimmers.

    Competitive Swimming – swimmers learn to develop their technique over longer distances. They learn to perform starts, turns and finishes learning the basics to then be able to progress to a competitive swimming club.

    Rookie Lifeguard – Swimmers develop essential water skills to keep themselves safe and knowledge of what to do in an emergency. Rookies will learn about swimming and lifesaving skills supported by water safety education to protect their lives should an accident occur in or out of the water.

    Flip n’ Fun – Participants have fun learning new skills and developing water confidence. They are introduced to diving skills and the programme has been designed to encourage agility, co-ordination and balance, using children’s positive energy to increase their awareness in the water.

    Mini Polo – This is a fun, high energy ball game in the pool where it combines ball, swimming skills and teamwork skills. In Mini Polo participants can play in water standing and in deep water. This is a great game and a good starting point for anyone thinking of taking up water polo.

    As swimmers participate in different aquatics programme disciplines each term it will mean that they may pass for example Stage 9 Mini Polo in one term but Stage 8 in Competitive Swimming the following term. ;This does not mean that swimmers are going backwards, it is just a reflection of participation in different aquatics classes which members will pass at different times.

    When swimmers reach the age of 12 and are able to complete a swim test they may be moved in to the senior lifesaving saving classes. To see how our learn to swim and advanced aquatics programmes and lifesaving classes all fit together along with our teacher and trainer education programme download the Swimmer Journey chart here


follow us on facebook
follow us on twitter
email survive and save club